I, like any other God-fearing woman, love sandwiches.  They are the perfect meal.  It hits all the basic food groups, it’s portable, and you eat it with your hands.  What’s not to love?

Well, this past Tuesday, I decided that I would have one of these perfectly packaged forms of goodness at Capriotti’s Sandwich Shop, near where I work, for lunch.  They have some of the best chicken cheesteak sandwhiches I’ve ever had, and they’re always really fast with service.

I was having a bad day at work, coming out of an even worse weekend at home, so I felt like I owed myself a nice hardy meal.  We’ve all been there.  We feel a little down, and we need just the right amount of calories to make everything okay again.

Little did I know that this visit, to where I am considered a Regular on Yelp, would be different.

I walked in with such happiness.  I finally was going to have that Chicken Cheesesteak.  I even called my dad to see if I could bring him lunch too!

Then…

I was devestated guys.  I literally felt defeated.  I think everyone knows how sad it is when this happens.  You work up all that emotional anticipation for food, and then

your wallet is empty?

no.  No.  No, no, no. nononononooooooooooooooooo NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

I tell the cashier never mind, and turn my back in shame.

The cashier calls me back.  He must have seen how beaten I was because then he did something spectacular…

AND he paid for my dad’s sandwich too.  “The least he could do” was all he said.   I was dumfounded.

“Are you serious” was all I could say.  And “thank you” about a million times.

He could see I was getting all emo.  I told him that this sort of thing only happens on Buzzfeed articles.  He laughed, and probably thought I was a little weird.  As I left with my paper bag full of edible gold, I did one of those dramatic “turn your head back and take one last look” stares.

I was excited for the day again. I didn’t feel so bogged down by the weekend past, or the work load ahead of me.  It was euphoric in a way.

But, I was plagued with this feeling of: What should I do?  How can I repay such a kindness?

I know it was just a sandwhich.  This guy didn’t solve world hunger or anything.  He just managed to make one girl’s day a little better.

So I went home and wrote a Yelp Review here.  And I’m still thinking of ways to repay him, but maybe you could help me with that?  Any idea’s world?

